Lucky-Charms-Gluten-Free
Jul 01, 2015 • By

Lucky Charms going gluten free

The change we made in our cereal production facilities that allows five varieties of Cheerios to be gluten free also now means Lucky Charms is joining that list.

That’s because Lucky Charms will use the oat flour being made for gluten-free Cheerios.

Chairman and CEO Ken Powell made that announcement this morning, during the webcast of our latest earnings results.

Lucky-Charms-Gluten-Free

“Consumers who avoid gluten will soon be able to enjoy a bowl of Lucky Charms too,” says Emily Thomas, senior marketing manager for Lucky Charms. “And the recipe won’t change. It will maintain the same great, magically delicious taste that Lucky Charms fans love.”

The other ingredients in Lucky Charms already are gluten free, including the marshmallows.

We announced the news about gluten-free Cheerios in February and how we developed a way to sort out the small amount of wheat, rye and barley in our supply of whole oats that are inadvertently introduced at the farms where the oats are grown, or during transportation of the whole oats to our mill.

This sorting ensures that the oats we use – for the five Cheerios varieties and Lucky Charms – allow us to meet the FDA’s strict guideline for gluten free.

You should be able to find Lucky Charms, labeled gluten free, on store shelves in September (with national distribution by October).

(Editor’s note: As of Oct. 2015, the production schedule has them coming out at the end of 2015).

Check the side panel for “GLUTEN FREE” at the bottom of the nutrition information.

The five varieties of Cheerios going gluten free will be in stores soon in some areas of the U.S., and by September across the country. They are Original Cheerios, Honey Nut, Multi-Grain, Apple Cinnamon and Frosted.

Subscribe to “A Taste of General Mills” by email – here – and we’ll notify you about our latest posts.